Lisa Stansfield – Java Jazz Festival 2013, March 2, 2013

Lisa Stansfield has long been one of my favourite female vocalists of all time. She’s one of the few whose careers I’ve been following since their first debut. I think it’s after 2003 that the music world didn’t hear much of her anymore. So when I heard the news that she would be performing in Java Jazz Festival 2013, I was ecstatic. I didn’t care if I have to go and watch the show by myself. I-just-had-to-go!

So worried that I wouldn’t make it on the very front of the stage, I skipped the other performances, including Basia, just to able to stand at the front line of the queue. And it’s all worth it! With some friends and familiar faces I met on the spot (okay, I really forgot who I eventually went there with), we secured our places, standing at the fence. See our happy faces?

Processed with VSCO with e5 preset
The happy faces of long-time fans

Opening the show with “Set Your Loving Free”, Stansfield looked elegant with her turquoise dress wrapped in pale pink fur shrug, yet she was energetic throughout the show. With her contralto voice (almost all of my favourites are from this vocal range; Joni Mitchell, Laura Marling, Amy Winehouse, Róisín Murphy, Karen Carpenter, Natalie Merchant, Tracey Thorn of Everything But The Girl, Corinne Drewery of Swing Out Sister, and the list goes on), she carried out 17 songs, a mix of her all-time hits and less familiar singles.

1. Set Your Loving Free
2. Mighty Love
3. Never, Never Gonna Give You Up
4. Stupid Heart
5. The Real Thing
6. Big Thing
7. Time To Make You Mine
8. Make Love To Ya
9. Change
10. All Woman
11. What Did I Do To You
12. People Hold On
13. Someday
14. Conversation
15. Live Together

Encore

16. Down In The Depths
17. All Around The World

Stansfield kept the conversations short, but it was the eye and body languages that engaged her to the audience. Combined with a voice that sounded like coming out of a CD and her unfaltering energy, it was one of the finest performances I’ve ever seen.

And what more can make a fangirl happier than having the opportunity to take a picture with one of her long time idols? I was all smiles and tremble.

Processed with VSCO with e5 preset

Thanks to some people who texted me right after the show (or probably during the show but we have no signal inside the hall), I found out that the camera caught our faces a few times. You can also catch my sok asik lost-in-the-dancing-tunes face if you look close enough LMAO. Oh, too bad that the video doesn’t do justice of how amazing her voice actually sounded.

Leave a Reply

