2017 CNBLUE Live Between Us in Jakarta – Indonesia Convention Exhibition BSD, July 15, 2017

Processed with VSCO with  preset
Lee Jung Shin, Kang Ming Hyuk, Jung Yong Hwa, Lee Jong Hyun

I have a chronic case of being in love and in hate with CNBLUE. I have to say, their music is not brilliant. It’s not even on par with, let’s say, Nell or Kiha and The Faces. Though earlier albums are pretty good, recent albums have been frustration after frustration. This seems to be a problem with a band that’s treated like an idol group. Instead of digging and exploring their musicality and messages that they want to convey, CNBLUE seems to be more infatuated with the idea of concepts, just like any other money-machine idol group. Concept album is great, if you have things to say. Important things, and not some spring-inspired sound. WHAT… THE… HECK!!!

But the thing is, you can always count on their live performances. They have always been great. At least from what I saw on TV and YouTube. And the “Between Us” show is no exception. Despite the poor sound system and the hall’s acoustic (I caught Jong Hyun a few times looking quite upset because of the mic’s volume and probably his troubled monitor. A few times he and Yong Hwa sang off-key too), they gave a high-octane performance, which I have to say largely thanks to sugar-rushed Yong Hwa who looked like an energizer bunny high on steroids.

They went on 2,5 hours almost non-stop and with little conversation in between. I have no problem with that as long as they deliver a stellar show, which they did. Yong Hwa is admittedly a commendable frontman. It’s safe to say that it was practically he alone that carried the group’s interaction with the audience. I would love to hear more from Jong Hyun (as he is my so-called bias in the group and also one of my favourite voices in K-pop), unfortunately the sound system problem just ruined the chance to listen to his deep melancholic voice at full capacity. Having said that, though he’s supposedly my bias, it was Min Hyuk who really stole my eyes. Cute and sexy at the same time (pardon my being a perv).

I’m really glad that I decided to go at the last minute, otherwise I’d regret it. To be honest, it was We Got Married that brought me to CNBLUE, as cliché as it may sound. After two years of wasting my time on shipping Lee Jong Hyun & Gong Seung Yeon, wouldn’t it be a complete waste if I didn’t go when I had the chance? Yup, I know. Excuses, excuses LOL.

Now, out of the boys’ performance topic, I have to say that I’m really, really satisfied with my phone camera. No, we’re not talking about professional smartphone photography, just the regular amateurish fan photography. Some of the more high-end smartphones don’t even fare well in the low-light condition despite the massive stage lighting (I’m looking at you, iPhone). Compared to the more sophisticated Android phones, I’d say it only loses in the detail department. And sound. Hence, I didn’t record many videos (other than I ran out of space LMAO).

What bothered me, of course, since I didn’t stand in the middle, most of the photos came out being too asymmetrical. To those who know me well, they’d know that it bothers the heck out of me. So I had to give in to Photoshop, again, to make some stretches and fine tuning without changing much of the original photos. I think.

So here they are. For once, I’m being less picky and just post them all.

Setlist (based on 2017 CNBLUE Live Between Us in Seoul)
1. Intro
2. Radio
3. When I Was Young
4. Domino
5. I’m Sorry
6. Can’t Stop
7. It’s You
8. L.O.V.E GIRL
9. Sweet Holiday
10. LOVE
11. Lie
12. Blind Love
13. Royal Rumble
14. In My Head
15. You’re So Fine
16. Face To Face
17. Wake Up
18. Feeling
19. Coffee Shop
20. Cinderella
21. Between Us
Encore (Acoustic)
1. Catch Me
2. Manito
3. Young Forever

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Processed with VSCO with nc preset
Lee Jong Hyun
Processed with VSCO with e5 preset
Jung Yong Hwa
Processed with VSCO with e2 preset
Lee Jung Shin & Lee Jong Hyun
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
See how energetic Yonghwa is?

Processed with VSCO with nc preset

 

Processed with VSCO with nc preset

 

My poor quality video. The sound’s so messy 😦

 

 

 

 

One thought on “2017 CNBLUE Live Between Us in Jakarta – Indonesia Convention Exhibition BSD, July 15, 2017

Leave a Reply

